Faringdon Union includes the parishes of Ashbury, Balking, Bourton, Buckland, Buscot, Charney Bassett, Coleshill, Compton Beauchamp, Eaton Hastings, Great Coxwell, Great Faringdon, Hatford, Hinton Waldrist, Kingston Lisle, Little Coxwell, Longcot, Longworth, Pusey, Shellingford, Shrivenham, Stanford in the Vale, Uffington, Watchfield and Woolstone

(swipe image left and right to show/hide map close-up)


Faringdon 1200x677

Featured Places


Ashbury is a hill settlement on the northern slope of the Berkshire Downs, said to be have been continuously inhabited for 5,000 years.

Charney Bassett

Charney Bassett is a village and civil parish on the river Ock, in the north of the Vale of the White Horse, about 4.5 miles north of Wantage.

Compton Beauchamp

The parish of Compton Beauchamp is, like several of the Berkshire downland parishes, a long strip of land.

Kingston Lisle

Kingston Lisle (also spelt Kingstone), is a downland village and civil parish five miles west of Wantage, at one time a chapelry of Sparsholt

Stanford in the Vale

Stanford in the Vale is a village, civil and ecclesiastical parish about 3.5 miles south-east of Faringdon, on the A417 road from Faringdon to Wantage. The parish belonged to Berkshire until the local government boundary changes of 1974, when it was transferred to Oxfordshire.


Uffington, named for Uffa/Offa, king of Mercia and Wessex is large village and civil parish in the Vale of the White Horse


The village and civil parish of Woolstone is, like several of the Berkshire downland parishes, a long strip of land.

Picture of Berkshire Family History Society

Berkshire Family History Society